My Party Is Grinding Automation Pack: what it automates, and where its two rules collide

The $4.99 DLC that turns loot management into three rules you configure once. The rules, the exclusions and the reviews below are quoted from the DLC’s Steam page and its own review feed, read 2026-08-31; a few figures about the base game and one developer patch note come from elsewhere on this site and carry their own dates. Where this page reasons from those sources rather than quoting them, it says so in the sentence. We have not bought the DLC, so there is no hands-on verdict here.

Price
$4.99
Released
2026-08-27
Steam reviews
2 total — too few to be a score
Needs a restart
No

Plan your two thresholds before you press Start

Auto-combine fires upward and auto-sell fires downward, so the two settings can overlap, or leave a band nothing touches. The store page describes each rule on its own and never mentions what happens where they meet. Move them and see.

  1. Rung 8 · highestMatches auto-combine
  2. Rung 7Matches auto-combine
  3. Rung 6Matches auto-combine
  4. Rung 5↑ your auto-combine floorMatches auto-combine
  5. Rung 4Matches neither rule
  6. Rung 3Matches neither rule
  7. Rung 2↓ your auto-sell ceilingMatches auto-sell
  8. Rung 1 · lowestMatches auto-sell

A match is not a verdict. Both rules are described as acting on “eligible” gear and the store page never defines eligibility in full; locked, equipped and enhanced gear is excluded whatever you set here; and auto-stash runs before either rule. This shows which threshold catches which rung, not what will happen to a given item.

Rungs 3–4 match neither rule, so neither auto-combine nor auto-sell is set to act on those grades. Auto-stash runs before both and may still move the items.
Locked, equipped and enhanced gear is excluded from all three actions whatever these two settings say, per the store page.

The two directions come from the store page verbatim: auto-combine works “at or above the grade you choose”, auto-sell “at or below the grade you choose”. The overlap and gap outcomes are our reading of what those two sentences do together, not a separate published statement. Rungs are relative: the store page says 8 grades exist but does not publish their order, and only 3 are confirmed by name.

What the three rules actually say

Quoted rather than summarised, because the direction words are the whole mechanic and a paraphrase loses them.

RuleStore page wordingActs onGrade band
Auto-stash“moves selected gear and material categories to designated stash pages; set a minimum grade for gear”Gear and materials, into stash pages you designateMinimum grade only
Auto-combine“combines eligible gear in your bag at or above the grade you choose”Gear in your bagAt or above ↑
Auto-sell“sells eligible gear in your bag at or below the grade you choose”Gear in your bagAt or below ↓
Order is published

“Process items in stash → combine → sell order using rules you configure.” That sentence is why the planner above resolves an overlap the way it does: a grade caught by both rules meets auto-combine before auto-sell. The developer states the order; the consequence for an overlapping band is our reading of it, and we have not watched it run.

The store page also states: “Preview processing counts before starting and review completed actions in the activity log” — so the counts are visible before anything is processed, which is the one safety net that does not depend on getting the thresholds right.

What automation never touches

Three item states are excluded from all three actions, whatever your thresholds say. This is the developer’s wording, not our testing.

Excluded

Locked

Items you have locked in the inventory.

Excluded

Equipped

Anything a hero is currently wearing.

Excluded

Enhanced

Gear with any engraving, enchantment, or gem applied. The store page defines the word itself, so this is not our reading of it.

Verbatim: “Locked, equipped, and enhanced gear is always excluded from every automation action. Enhanced gear means gear with any engraving, enchantment, or gem applied.”

What the developer has changed since the store page was written

The store copy quoted above describes three gear rules and says nothing about chests. The patch notes do: they cut the Pack’s chest auto-open wait, drop the Orb requirement for three chest types, and state that those chest benefits keep working while all three gear rules are switched off. Quoted from the developer’s own announcements, a different source from the store page, with their own dates.

Official · 2026-08-31

Maintenance & Update: Rewards, Automation, Gear and UI Improvements

  • “Reduced chest auto-open wait times. Automation Pack 30% reduction.”
  • “Automation Pack owners can auto-open Normal Chests, Stage Boss Chests, and Act Boss Chests without purchasing the corresponding Orbs.”
  • “These chest benefits apply even when auto-sort, auto-combine, and auto-sell are inactive. Existing auto-open on/off settings for each chest type are preserved.”
  • “Improved Automation Pack log messages.”

Source: the 2026-08-31 announcement. Only the lines naming the Automation Pack or chest auto-open are quoted; the rest of that patch is about the base game.

Reading, not a quote

The third line is the one that changes how the planner above should be read: chest auto-opening works with auto-sort, auto-combine and auto-sell all switched off. So the two grade thresholds on this page decide what happens to gear, and nothing about whether chests open. The store page describes only the gear rules, so the separation is easy to miss if you read it alone.

What the store page does not say

The useful half of a feature list is usually its edges. These are questions the published description leaves open — listed as open, because the alternative is a page that quietly invents answers to them.

Open questionWhat is publishedWhy it matters before you press Start
What price does auto-sell get?Nothing. The word “sells” and no more.Whether it matches selling by hand is the difference between a convenience and a discount you did not agree to.
How many stash pages does the base game give you?Not stated anywhere we can read. The Stash Pack sells 3 more, which implies a starting number without naming it.Auto-stash needs pages to target. Its useful range depends on a number nobody has published.
Do the rules keep running while you are offline?Nothing on the DLC page. (Separately: the base game’s store page states offline catch-up earns for up to 8 hours — a different page, pulled 2026-08-30, and it says nothing about automation.)An idle game that fills your bag while closed is exactly when you would want the rules to fire.
Do auto-combine and auto-sell touch crafting materials?The nouns do not agree with each other. Auto-stash names “gear and material categories”; auto-combine and auto-sell name only “gear”; and the sentence covering all three stages says “Process items in stash → combine → sell”. Nothing published says which noun governs, and no exclusion is stated for materials the way one is for locked, equipped and enhanced gear.If you hoard mats, this is the ambiguity to settle on the preview screen before your first run — not by reasoning from which word appears in which bullet.
Can a run be undone?Only the forward half: a preview before, an activity log after. No mention of reversing anything.Treat the preview as the last checkpoint, because on the published evidence it is.

Every row is an absence or an unresolved ambiguity in the Automation Pack store description, verified by reading the whole of it on 2026-08-31 rather than by failing to find something in a search. Where the wording points somewhere, we say where — and stop, because a store page pointing is not a store page stating. The one base-game figure above is marked inline with its own source and pull date, because it comes from a different page on a different day. If the developer documents any of these later, this table gets shorter.

Every published review, in full

Not a selection — this is every Steam review the Automation Pack had on 2026-08-31, all 2 of them. At that sample size a percentage would be theatre, so there is not one here. Each is marked by Steam as bought on Steam rather than received free.

Not recommendedKoreanPosted 2026-08-27Steam purchase
“작동안함”

Our translation: “Does not work.”

Not recommendedSimplified ChinesePosted 2026-08-29Steam purchase
“没想象中好用啊这个,多买点背包格子都比这好使,真的是,现在退款还得等,不敢上游戏了,不然玩够俩小时没法退,这个dlc好像没法单独卸载”

Our translation: “Not as useful as I imagined. Buying more bag slots would be more use than this. Now I have to wait on the refund and I do not dare launch the game, or I will pass two hours and lose the ability to refund. This DLC seems like it cannot be uninstalled on its own.”

Read the dates together

The “does not work” review was posted 2026-08-27. The developer shipped v1.0.13 on 2026-08-28, and that announcement lists “DLC Automation improvements” among its changes — without saying which ones. So that review predates a patch aimed at this DLC by a day, and no itemised changelog exists to tell you whether the specific fault was among them. We are not claiming it was fixed. We are saying the review and the patch are a day apart and nobody has published enough to close the question.

The other two paid DLCs, and why the second reviewer is worth reading twice

All three shipped on release day. Review counts are in single figures across every one of them, so treat the column as a link to what people wrote, not as a rating.

DLCPriceWhat the store page says it doesReviews (2026-08-31)
Stash Pack$2.99Add 3 stash pages for more room to store and organize gear and materials.1 total · 0 up / 1 down
Supporter Pack$3.99Two gold-bonus pets and two EXP-bonus pets. Every owned pet's bonus is always active.2 total · 1 up / 1 down
Automation Pack This page$4.99Configure auto-stash, auto-combine, and auto-sell. Locked, equipped, and enhanced gear is always excluded.2 total · 0 up / 2 down
Worth noticing

The Chinese reviewer says more bag slots would have been the better $4.99. Worth keeping straight before you act on that: the bag and the stash are two different places in this game — auto-combine and auto-sell are described as working on gear “in your bag”, while auto-stash moves things out to “designated stash pages”, and the Stash Pack ($2.99) sells stash pages, not bag slots. So it is not a drop-in answer to what he asked for, and we have found nothing published about buying bag slots at all. What is true is that auto-stash needs stash pages to target, and how many the base game starts you with is not published anywhere we can read.

FAQ

What does the My Party Is Grinding Automation Pack do?
It adds three configurable loot rules to the base game for $4.99: auto-stash, auto-combine and auto-sell. The store page states they run in that order, that you can preview the processing counts before starting, and that an activity log records what happened. Auto-combine acts on gear "at or above the grade you choose" and auto-sell on gear "at or below the grade you choose", so the two rules point in opposite directions along the grade ladder.
Can the Automation Pack sell gear I wanted to keep?
Not if it is locked, equipped, or enhanced — the store page says those three states are excluded from every automation action, and it defines "enhanced" as gear with any engraving, enchantment, or gem applied. Those are the only exclusions published. Beyond them the copy only ever says the rules act on "eligible" gear without defining eligibility, so your auto-sell ceiling is the last documented control, not provably the last one. We have not tested any of this; it is what the store page states and stops short of stating.
Is the Automation Pack worth it?
We will not score that for you, and the published evidence is far too thin to score it honestly: as of 2026-08-31 it has 2 Steam reviews in total, both negative. Two reviews is not a rating, it is two people. What we can say is what the DLC is documented to do and what it stops short of documenting. One of the two reviewers said more bag slots would have been the better money — note that bag slots and the stash pages sold by the Stash Pack ($2.99) are two different things in this game, and we have found nothing published about how to buy bag slots.
Does the Automation Pack sell or combine crafting materials?
The store page does not say, and its own nouns disagree. Auto-stash is described as moving "gear and material categories"; auto-combine and auto-sell name only "gear"; and the sentence covering all three stages reads "Process items in stash → combine → sell order". No exclusion is stated for materials the way one is stated for locked, equipped and enhanced gear, and the game's fusion mechanic is itself built on combining nine identical materials — so the narrow reading of the bullets is not the likely one. Treat it as unresolved and settle it on the preview screen before your first run.
What happens to the Automation Pack if I refund it?
The store page addresses this directly: "Automation is disabled and its saved rules are reset. Your current items and currencies are not removed." So the rules you configured are lost, but the gear that was already stashed, combined or sold does not get reversed and your currencies stay. Refund eligibility itself is Steam's policy, not the developer's, and it is not stated on this page.
Do I need to restart the game after buying the Automation Pack?
No. The store page states: "Applies immediately after purchase — no restart needed". The controls are behind the Automation button, which the store page places as the top of the three icons on the left of the battle screen.

This site is an unofficial fan-made information hub and is not affiliated with Valve, Steam, SUPERLINK Inc., or the My Party Is Grinding team. We do not sell this DLC and earn nothing if you buy it.